Sri Lanka Ladies Stroke Play Championship 2015

Golf Sri Lanka Ancient Golfing nation-a Re Birth

 J. Dias 80 + 85+75 =240 Gross &R/Up: Taniya Balasuriya 83+82+82= 247 Gross

Jaquie Dias wins Mackwoods Sri Lanka Ladies Stroke Play Championship 2015

The  Sri Lanka Ladies’  Strokeplay Championship celebrated its 41st  anniversary  In golfing circles, the event is simply referred to as the ‘Mackwoods Championship’.  This tournament which is played under the flag of the Sri Lanka Golf Union, has the distinction of being supported by the same sponsor from its inception in 1974, to date.  This accolade goes to Mackwoods for their unstinting and continued promotion of ladies golf for over 40 years. 

The winner of this most coveted challenge trophy this year is Jackie Dias with scores of gross 80, 85 and 75. Her victory, while not surprising, is particularly commendable as she has been off the golf course in recent times, but her experience and ability saw her take the title once again for the 7th time.  Her margin of victory of 7 shots better than runner-up Tania Balasuriya‘s score is a noteworthy achievement who shot a gross score over 3 days of 83, 82 and 82.  13 year old Tania is making a mark in ladies golf and it is hoped she will be a force to reckon with in the future. 

The Nuwara Eliya Cup a board event for the best aggregate Nett score over three rounds was won by young Kayla Perera with Jaquie Dias being the runner up.
The prestige and popularity of this championship was reflected by the number of ladies who played in very challenging and unpleasant weather conditions over 3 days.  Congratulations to all the ladies who took home the prizes. 

Mackwoods Challenge Trophy
Winner: J. Dias 80 + 85+75 =240 Gross
R/Up: Taniya Balasuriya 83+82+82= 247 Gross

Nuwara Eliya Challenge Cup
Winner: Kayla Perera: 67+71+72= 210 Nett
R/up: J. Dias: 74+79+69= 222 Nett

Bronze Cup
Winner: Imman Sangani: 101+103+95 = 299 Gross
R/Up: Roshini Sangani: 95+ 103+102 = 300 Gross

Consolation prizes
Day 01 – Sandya Kumari
Day 02 – Fran de Mel

Day 03 – Ahalya Rajan