Sri Lanka Junior Match Play Golf Championship 2015 Semi Final Day

Ancient Golfing nation-a Re Birth
Royal Colombo Golf Club 

 cool  conditions prevailed- for the youngsters playing their 3rd consecutive round, defending champion Prashan Peiris and top seed Ishira Fernando set up a no holds barred contest as the finalists in the 2nd Sri Lanka Junior Match Play Golf Championship for the Rukmini Kodagoda trophy sponsored by Perera and Sons to be worked off at the greens of  Royal Colombo Golf Club. The much fancied Ishira playing extremely confidently saw off the less experienced, but much improved Armand Flamer Caldera 6/5, while Prashan playing steady golf beat the current Sri Lanka Junior Open champion Lamidu Rainika 2/1.A suprsing win.
Tanya Balasuriya
Taniya Balasuriya continued to dominate the Silver Division with another overwhelming performance sending Kehaan Allis from Malaysia for an early lunch beating him 9/7 while Sathsara Dilshan also beat his namesake Dilshan Malinda by a big margin of 7/6.
The Bronze Division too had the top 2 seeds getting to the finals to set up another exciting contest between Kayla Perera who beat Vikash Thangadore 1 up and Levon Niyarepola who had a convincing victory over Tarin Wijeyasinghe 8/6.
The under 10 years of age copper division produced two exciting finishes in the semi finals. Yannik Kumara the top seed did not have things his own way and had to fight hard to eventually win 2 up at the final hole.  In the bottom half the 2nd seed Tien Kapilasena and 3rd seed  K.Dhanushan kept the crowd going with some excellent golf and matching each other shot for shot. Finally, the game had to be extended to a sudden-death playoff when Tien held his nerve and cleared the hazard in 2 while Dhanushan was forced to play safe. Both boys showed a tremendous fighting spirit and in the end although Tien made it through to the final, the game of golf was a clear winner. All credit must go to the Sri Lanka Golf Union for having created this special division and showed that the future of golf in Sri Lanka has tremendous potential.

Plate Prizes- The Juniors who missed the cut played a special round for the plate prize. Devmith Weeraratne won the gold division plate with a gross score of 79, 5 strokes ahead of Januka Dilshan on 84.The Silver division plate winner was Prabath Ganeshan on gross 105, who was 10 strokes ahead of Haroon Aslam and Vinuk Welikala on 115. The Copper Division plate again a very close contest between Shanal Binushka, Qasim Moosajee and Shenuk Fernando with Shanal just winning by a margin of 1 stroke over Qasim and 3 strokes over Shenuk.