, Thai Domination--127th Sri Lanka Amateur Golf Championship 2014

Sri Lanka Ladies Amateur Championship - 2014
Results as at 2014-04-27 16:30Hrs
Leonard Peiris Cup - 1st Round Best Gross Score
Runner-Up Gross Score
Tvesa Malik 81
Winner Gross Score
Astha Madan (INDIA) 76
Firestone / Jepson Cup - 1st Round Best Nett Score
Runner-Up Nett Score
Tvesa Malik 77
Winner Nett Score
Astha Madan (INDIA) 71
Pin Fernando Trophy - Best Aggregate Nett Score Over the Two Rounds
Runner-Up R1 R2 Total Nett
Tvesa Malik (INDIA) 77 72 149
Winner R1 R2 Total Nett
Astha Madan (INDIA) 71 76 147
Lilamini Weeraratne Trophy - Best Aggregate Gross Score Over The Two Rounds
Runner-Up R1 R2 Total Gross
Astha Madan 76 81 157
Winner R1 R2 Total Gross
Tvesa Malik (INDIA) 81 76 157
Better 2nd Round
Men's Amateur Championship 2014
Illankoon Trophy ( Individual Nett Score on 1st Round )
Runner-Up Nett Score
G.Sridaran (NAVY) 71
Winner Nett Score
Nattawat Suvajanakorn (THAILAND) 68
Victoria Cup ( Individual Gross Score on 1st Round )
Runner-Up Gross Score
Md Sajib Ali (BANGLADESH) 72
Winner Gross Score
Nattawat Suvajanakorn (THAILAND) 68
Pin Fernando Trophy ( Individual Gross Score on 2nd Round )
Runner-Up Gross Score
Udayan Mane (INDIA) 70
Winner Gross Score
Nattawat Suvajanakorn (THAILAND) 68
S.L.G.U. Trophy ( Individual Nett Score on 2nd Round )
Runner-Up Nett Score
G.M.Pradeep Kumara ( SL - B) 68
Winner Nett Score
Ravindra S Wijegunaratne (RCGC) 67
In honour of the first Sri Lankan to win the Amateur Championship of Sri Lanka
Timothy De Silva Challenge Trophy ( Best Gross for 2 Rounds )
( was donated by his heirs)
Winner R1 R2 Total Gross
Nattawat Suvajanakorn (THAILAND) 68 68 136
Senior Open Amateur Championship - 2014
Dr. L.V.R. Fernando Cup (Nett Score over 2 Rounds)
Runner-Up R1 R2 Total Nett
G.Harison  (RCGC) * 80 73 153
Winner R1 R2 Total Nett
R.Premarathne (NAVY) * 76 62 138
Senior Open for the Havelock Trophy (Gross Score over 2 Rounds)
Runner-Up R1 R2 Total Gross
R.Premarathne (NAVY) * 87 73 160
Winner R1 R2 Total Gross
G.Harison  (RCGC) * 82 75 157
International Team Events 
Zia Ul Haq Trophy - Pakistan Vs Sri Lanka 
Best Gross Second Day
Pakistan Gross
Mansoor Teli (PAKISTAN) 79
Salman Jehangir (PAKISTAN) 79
Total 158 158
Sri Lanka Gross
Sisira Kumara (S L) 75
P. Hemantha (S L) 79 154
Total 154
International Team Event for the Parlakemedi Trophy
Runner-Up Thailand
Thailand Gross Gross
Nattawat Suvajanakorn (THAILAND) 68 68
Chanachok Dejpirattanamongkol (THAILAND) 75 81
Total 143 149 292
Winner India
On better 2nd Round
India Gross Gross
Udayan Mane (INDIA) 77 70
Aman Raj (INDIA) 73 72
Total 150 142 292
Sri Lanka Ladies Amateur Champion - 2014
Runner Up
127th Sri Lanka Amateur Mens Champion - 2014
Runner Up
Chanachok Dejpirattanamongkol (THAILAND)
Nattawat Suvajanakorn (THAILAND)


Organized by 
VENUE: NUWARA ELIYA GOLF CLUB  above 6000 feet sea level 

Nattawat Suwajanakorn is a cut above the rest – Wins Championship in style
History books in the annals of Sri Lanka Golf have to record the name Nattawat Suwajanakorn as the first golfer from Thailand to win the prestigious National Title of Sri Lanka Amateur Champion which was vied for on the 127th occasion since its inauguration in 1891 on the same golf course in Nuwara Eliya.
Nattawat got off to a flying start and led 6up against his fellow countryman Channachok after the first 18 holes in the 36 hole final. Both young boys decided that they do not want a long break and for the first time in the history of this championship teed off the second session in the morning after just a 30 minute break (which the spectators needed). Chanachok tried to fight back valiantly and did reduce the deficit to 5 down on a couple of occasions but could not match the superior shot making of his opponent and team-mate Nattawat. Despite missing a few short putts at the 7th, 8th and 9th,  Nattawat continued to maintain his overwhelming lead and finished the match 6/5, giving the organizers plenty of time to prepare of the final award ceremony and send everyone home after an early afternoon tea.

According to Sri Lanka’s K.Prabagaran who is playing in the PGTI and having won 2 titles as a professional including the Sri Lanka Open earlier this year, Nattawat had all the shots of any professional on the PGTI circuit and will definitely be a name to look out for should he choose to turn pro.