Sri Lanka Golf union effort to make Golf in Sri Lanka as good as cricket

Eagles Golf Links hosts first National Tournament – Sponsored by ‘Prima Sunrise Bread’

Lamidu, Ishira, Mahisha shine

Thirsty juniors competed for top honours over two days played at the newly constructed Eagles’ Golf Links at China Bay, Trincomalee. The Gold division was won by Lamidu Rainika, while the Silver division was won by Ishira Fernando meanwhile Mahisha Hirushan was the champion in the Bronze division.

13 year old Ishira played brilliant golf to score 82, 79 over two days in the challenging Eagles’ Golf Links to emerge the winner in his category and have best tournament score. We also saw much potential by Shemani Jagoda who competed with the boys to come second in her age group division. In the most junior category Tienn Kapilasena the youngest player at age seven showed promise along with up and coming girl golfer Kayla Perera.

The championship was conducted by the Sri Lanka Golf Union with the support of Ceylon Agro Industries – promoters of Sunrise Bread, Pro Golf (Pvt) Ltd along with Eagles’ Golf Links. This year for the first time the Sri Lanka Golf Union introduced regional junior open’s commencing at Victoria Golf & Country Club – Digana, Kandy and secondly at Eagles Golf Links – China Bay Trincomalee. It’s an initiative to foster talent regionally and talent scouting for national representation. The tournaments would be a guide to identifying talent for the junior development squad of the SLGU. Currently we see players such as Sathsara Dilshan, S Kailash (VGCR) showing performance from the program. The Chief Guest Air Commodore Sargala Kotakadeniya, Commandant China Bay, Group Captain Prasana Ranasinghe and Mr. Steven Kok of Prima Ceylon (Pvt) Ltd gave away the awards.   
give them a good hand

Gold Division (15 – 17 yrs)
  1. Lamidu Rainika             185
  2. Shemani Jagoda           189
  3. S. Niroshan                  190
  4. Ishan Dilranga              194

Silver Division (11 – 14 yrs)
  1. Ishira Fernando             161
  2. S. Kailash                     179
  3. Sathsara Dilshan          183
  4. Vinod Weerasinghe       188      

Bronze Division (10 and under)
  1. Mahisha Hirushan         87
  2. Kayla Perera                 96
  3. Tienn Kapilasena          98