Mackwoods Sri Lanka Ladies Stroke Play Championship 2014

Mackwoods Sri Lanka Ladies Stroke Play Championship 2014
ever green Niloo

Mackwoods Sri Lanka Ladies Stroke Play Championship organized by Sri Lanka Golf Union was played at Royal Colombo Golf Club from 21st to 23rd July 2014. This Championship which is the foremost Ladies Stroke Play Tournament in the Country has been Sponsored by Mackwoods (PVT) LTD  for the last 40 years.
 MoM  caring the baby at RCGC

23 Ladies participated this year. For the first time, four Lady Golfers from Diyathalawa Golf Club participated. This Club which is over 60 years old belongs to the Sri Lanka Army.

Niloo Jayathilake won this year’s Championship for the 3rd  time. She played steady golf throughout the 3 rounds to comfortably beat Kishani Vethavinayakam by 10 shots.

Niloo also won the Nuwara Eliya Golf Club Challenge Trophy, which is for the best Nett Score over 3 rounds. Niloo tied with Niranjalie Amarasooriya, but won as she had a better last round.

The Bronze Gross Prize, which is for the Nett Winner with a Handicap of  31 & above, was won by Niranjalie Amarasooriya with a Nett score of 294. In 2nd place was Shirani Buffin on 299.

A notable performance of the Tournament was by 13 year old Tania Balasuriya from Royal Colombo Golf Club who came 4th in the Mackwoods Challenge Trophy.

In the Daily Consolation Prizes for each round, the winners were on the 1st Round Sandya Kumari from Victoria with a Nett 70.  2nd Round Winner was Iman Sangani with a Nett 69. 3rd Round winner was Sven Selvaratnam with a Nett 74. 
best way to start learning golf

Below are the results

Mackwoods Challenge Trophy (Gross – Handicap 30 & below)

Winner                        -  Niloo Jayathilake (RCGC)                          243  -   (81 , 83 , 79)
Runner up       -  Kishani Vethavinayakam (RCGC)             253  -   (89 , 82 , 82)

Nuwara Eliya Golf Club Challenge Trophy (Nett – Handicap 36 & Below)
Winner                        -   Niloo Jayathilake (RCGC)                          216  -   (72 , 74  , 70)
Runner up       -   Niranjalie Amarasooriya (RCGC)             216  -   (72 , 71  , 73)